Jones, Skinner earn big wins at Big O Speedway

By Phil Whipple,
RaceOnTexas.com Staff Writer. Photo By: Mike Frieri

ENNIS, Texas (Jan. 29, 2022) — Veteran short track drivers Casey Jones and John Skinner earned wins in their respective divisions, as officials hosted their 'Warm Her Up' program on Saturday afternoon at Big O Speedway.

Jones powered to victory in the 20-lap USRA Factory Stock A Main, while Skinner notched his win in the Eco Limited Modifieds. Nathan Gaona (Thunder Cars) and Christian Gaston (URSA Tuners) were also feature winners on a sunny but breezy day for racing in north Texas.

Jones, of Van Alstyne, drove to the inside of early leader Kenneth Chamberlain to take command of his feature on lap three. After a brief caution two laps later for Ruben Broussard and Melvin Kemp Jr.'s incident in Turn 1, the race stayed green for 15 laps.

Chamberlain settled for second, while Michael Bowles filled out the podium. Tommy Williams Jr. and Tim Hardman completed the top five. Finishing sixth through 10th in the Factory Stock A Main were Shawn Graham, Ryan Powers, Kolton Chamberlain, Broussard and hometown racer Nate Dixon.

Three cautions slowed the pace, the first two before a single lap was completed. Jones' margin of victory over the famed 'Pork Chop' Chamberlain was a scant .146 seconds, less than the blink of an eye. Nineteen of the 20 cars on hand started the feature, with only Donald Cain Jr. sitting on the sidelines.

Chamberlain, Jones and Bowles all won their respective qualifying heats earlier in the program.

Skinner, of Corsicana, Texas, started second on the 10-car Limited Modified grid and led all 12 laps. Charlie Alder drove from the seventh starting spot to finish second, while Toby Grissom filled out the podium in third. Devon Bowles and Frank Lackey rounded out the top five.

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Eco Limited Modified  feature were Jeremy Doyle, Charlie Norris, Abbi Wilkerson, David Thompson and Mason Martin. Three cautions slowed the pace, none for serious incidents. Skinner was dialed in on Saturday and faced little challenge in his first race of 2022.

Seven classes of Dirt Cross competition were also a part of the program at Big O Speedway Saturday. Final round winners in that action include Mia Cotto (Rowlet, TX, 170); Dewayne Sanders (Round Rock, TX, Sportsman Turbo); Shanon Parks (Gainesville, TX, Desert Buggy); Mike Buccafusco (Rockwall, TX, Novice N/A; Mike Douglas (Expert Turbo); Jonathan Sterling (Alvarado, TX, Sportsman N/A); and Alex Helms (Mt. Calm, TX, Novice Turbo).

You can replay all of the action from Big O Speedway's first race of the new season with a subscription at RaceOnTexas.com. With over 120 events streamed Live in 2021, SpeedPass brought tons of great content from three states into fans living rooms from February through December.

The 2022 season will again feature well over 100 races from Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas and points beyond. When fans sign up and choose their favorite track, they support it all year long with half of their monthly payment going to the promoter. Click here to start replaying!

Replay Now Available