DayMotorSports.com Race Recap: Wolff, Day, Pritchett win at Ronnie Sigman Memorial

CRANDALL, Texas (Sept. 3, 2023) — Touring Modified stalwart Tyler Wolff, North Texas Open-wheel mainstay Rowdy Day, and Stock car veteran Bryce Pritchett all won features in their respective divisions, as the eighth annual Ronnie Sigman Memorial was contested on Sunday at RPM Speedway.

Wolff powered to victory in the headlining 48-lap A Main for USRA American Racer Modified Series teams; Day outgunned a talent-filled affair for Limited Modifieds; while Pritchett wheeled his way to the front in Factory Stock action.

Wolff, of Fayetteville, Arkansas, started fourth on a 24-car grid, drove to the inside of James McCreery to take command at lap six and hung on to earn top honors. Bo Day gave chase throughout yet settled for the runner-up position, while former series champion Chris Henigan filled out the podium.

Tyler Davis (Haysville, KS) and Clyde Dunn Jr. (Rockwall) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

“The effort this track crew made here tonight was absolutely amazing,” Wolff said in Victory Lane. “I can't express how excited I am they elected to work on it and finish the program. They easily could have called it and rained out. But they stayed after it, and obviously it paid off.

“As I was watching the other races, I saw people makes passes and knew the track was racy enough to where we could pass, as well. This right here is pretty cool. My Dad isn't a big fan of topless races, but I kind of enjoy them. To be able to win one of these is great, I missed the field here three years ago.”

Wolff took home a cool $4,800 for his efforts on Sunday evening.

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Ronnie Sigman Memorial for ARMS Modifieds were Sean Gaddis, Dennie Gieber, Colton Horner, Kenny Gaddis and James McCreery. Six cautions slowed the pace (laps 3, 9, 31, 32, 41, 46), all for minor incidents. Wolff's margin of victory was a scant .979 of a second.

Kale Westover, Wolff, Henigan, Kevin Rowland and Chase Wascom won their respective qualifying Heats earlier in the evening, while Davis and Max Eddie Thomas won the two B Mains.

Day, of Greenville, started fourth in a 24-car Limited field, drove to the inside of Dustin Mooney to take control at lap 10 and pulled steadily away en route to his win. Former I-Stock standout Mooney crossed the stripe in second, while Jared Baird filled out the podium.

Shannon Hartline (Ivanhoe) and Jordan Ramsey (Crandall) completed the top five.

“The track is real fast here tonight,” Day said after the impressive run. “We started fourth, and it's kind of hammer-down up on the top right now. I think when they get those Factory Stocks out here in a minute, you'll see some really good racing. This track is coming in; it's getting better with every lap.”

Finishing sixth through 10th in the 20-lap Limited Modified feature were Eric Luttrell, Shane Hartline, Steven Ashcraft, Albert McCall and Matt Lunsford. Three cautions slowed the pace, all for minor spins. Day's margin of victory over Mooney was a comfortable 2.145 seconds.

Pritchett, of Crandall, started seventh on a 24-car grid, drove to the inside of Rodney White to take command at lap eight and narrowly edged Chris Davis for the top spot. Michael Dabney filled out the  podium with another rock-solid effort, as he's been fast each time's he's strapped into the No. 54k entry.

White, always a factor in North Texas, (Ector) and Jason Gore (Kaufman) rounded out the top five.

“Man, I don't know, I think the track is a little tricky out there after the re-work,” Pritchett said. “It came out pretty decent given the amount of rain we got in that short amount of time. It's pretty racy; I know Rodney (White) was up on top for a little while.

“For a minute, I thought he was gone. I'm not going to lie about that. I really like this; I've always wanted to get one of these Ronnie Sigman wins.”

Finishing sixth through 10th in the 20-lap Factory Stock A Main were Dalton Faulkner, Cameron Cook, Brett Jensen, Albert McCall Jr. and Michael Smith. Two cautions slowed the pace, both for minor spins. Pritchett's narrow margin of victory was a tiny .370 of a second, as Davis was closing the gap late.

The eighth annual Ronnie Sigman Memorial at RPM Speedway drew an impressive 130 entries spread across three divisions. Led by the mighty Factory Stocks with 49 cars on hand, there was no shortage of talent filling every corner of the pit area. Fans enjoyed great battles for position all evening long.

Officials cranked out 15 qualifying Heats in short order, ran off a pair of B Mains in all three classes to finish setting the field for their A Mains, then hosted some very exciting feature races. It was a fitting conclusion to a jam-packed weekend of racing across the Great State of Texas on Labor Day Weekend.

You can replay all of the action from Sunday night's eighth annual Ronnie Sigman Memorial program at RPM Speedway with a subscription at RaceOnTexas.com. With over 400 events on the Live steaming schedule this year, it's home to some of the best short track content available online.

Sign up today, choose your favorite or hometown track, and start enjoying great content while supporting your local track even when you can't attend in person. Click here to sign up and replay now! 

By Phil Whipple, RaceOnTexas.com Staff Writer. Photo By: Mike Frieri 

Replay Now Available