DayMotorSports.com Race Recap: Maupin, Morris, Stewart win at Cotton Bowl

PAIGE, Texas (July 2, 2022) — Versatile and highly skilled racer Jared Maupin, Modified sensation Chris Morris and open-wheel strongman Robert Stewart all won features in their respective divisions, as officials presented a full card of races headlined by the Texas Dirt Truck Series (TDTS) on Saturday at Cotton Bowl Speedway.

Maupin powered to victory in the TDTS A Main; Morris earned a win in IMCA Modified action, while Stewart got his season back on track with a victory in IMCA Southern SportMod competition. Justin Sitterle (Sport Compact) and Dustin Rude (Dwarfs) also won features in the holiday weekend show.

Maupin, of College Station, started 13th on the 17-truck grid, drove around the outside of early leader Buster Deen coming off Turn 4 to take command at lap four and built a huge lead as he dominated the TDTS feature. Jarrett Barber started 12th and finished second, while Lightning McGreen finished third.

Former champion Tony Bernal (La Vernia) and Deen (Huffman) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

“The track was a lot different in the feature than it was during qualifying,” Maupin said. “There was a lot more moisture in it, and it was pretty racy thanks to the awesome track prep they do here at Cotton Bowl. I want to thank Jamie Fuller and Aaron Leddy for making this truck absolutely perfect tonight.”

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Texas Dirt Truck Series A Main were 2019 series champion Larry Baggett, Josh Sewell, Trey Caulfield, Kevin Vasbinder and Adolph Tracy. With no cautions to slow the pace, Maupin set a blistering pace. His margin of victory over Barber was a whopping 5.552 seconds.

Morris, of Taylor, started second on the 12-car grid and led all 20 laps of his feature in dominant style. A master of hand controls, this unique and dedicated racer is on a roll in 2022. Graphic design master and skilled racer Garrett Gregory crossed the line in second, while Cody Tidwell filled out the podium.

Maupin backed up his TDTS victory with a solid fourth in the Modified, while Brenda Kirby was fifth.

“We've got this car rolling really good this year,” Morris said. “I feel like it's been pretty consistent. We've had a few hit or miss nights; but we've got it dialed in for this place and it seems to really like it here. This track seems to suit my driving style, and the track actually came in really good tonight.”

Finishing sixth through 10th in the caution-free Magnum Trailers IMCA Modified A Main were Ryan Childress, Jacob Hortch, Matt Dewitt, Wyatt Bohannon and Robert Sanderson. The Modifieds are always impressive at Cotton Bowl as they blast around the high-banked 3/8-mile oval.

Stewart, of Buda, started on the pole of his feature after winning the first of two qualifying heats and led all 20 laps. Hockley's Joseph Pontin Jr. made a valiant late-race charge into second, while Heath Stewart (Webberville) filled out the podium.

Points leader James Hanusch (Belton) finished fourth, while Earl Ingram (San Macros) finished fifth.

“We've been struggling all season,” an elated Stewart said in Victory Lane after celebrating on his roof. “It just happened to be my night. I got bumped with two laps to go; I thought it was the 23 but wasn't sure. I told myself just not to make any mistakes, and we managed to get it done tonight. I want to thank Rachel Plant; she works on my car during the week and it really helps. This feels awesome.”

Finishing sixth through 10th in the USA Wrecker IMCA Southern SportMod A Main were Kevin Parker, Doug Ripple, Andrew Supak, Joel Garcia and Jack Lewis. Only one caution slowed the pace when Supak put his No. 115 machine into the spin cycle.

Stewart had a slight bobble coming off Turn 4 and almost kissed victory goodbye, as his margin of victory over Pontin at the line was a scant .283 seconds. Fans at Cotton Bowl have witnessed some close, exciting finishes this year, and Stewart's return to Victory Lane will go down as one of the best.

Mary Ann Naumann and her staff at CBS did another great job executing their Holiday weekend program, drawing 75 entries spread across five divisions. The visiting Dwarf Car Racing Series of Texas (DCRST) led the way with 24, and nicely complimented the touring Truck series show.

IMCA Stock Cars, Factory Stocks and Street Stocks all had the night off, as most I-Stock teams were at Heart O' Texas Speedway competing in the rich Baby Blue Harcrow Memorial. Jeffrey Abbey, of Comanche, Texas, took home the $5,000 in that prestigious event on Saturday evening.

You can replay all of the action from Saturday night's show at Cotton Bowl Speedway with a subscription at RaceOnTexas.com. With over 350 events on the Live streaming schedule this year, its home to some of the best content found anywhere online.

When you sign up today, select one of three options (OnDemand, ASCS National Sprints Only, or All Access), choose your favorite/hometown track and start enjoying great content while supporting your local track even when you can't attend in person.

By Phil Whipple, RaceOnTexas Staff Writer

Sign up now for Race On Texas
Lonestar 600 at Devils Bowl Speedway

Replay Now Available