DayMotorSports.com Race Recap: Egbert, Batt, Dixon earn wins at HOT

ELM MOTT, Texas (Aug. 26, 2022) — Open-wheel veteran Trevor Egbert, Stock car master Jason Batt and veteran short track ace Nate Dixon all won features in their respective divisions, as officials presented the final points event of the season on Friday night at Heart O' Texas Speedway.

Kevin Green (IMCA Modified); Benji Kirkpatrick (Outlaw Street Stock) and Kayden Petty (Junior Limited) were also feature winners on another perfect night for short track racing in Central Texas.

Egbert, of Salado, was awarded the win after apparent winner Mason Day failed post-race technical inspection. Joel Garcia was bumped up to the runner-up position, while G.W. Egbert IV filled out the podium. Trevor Cogburn (Robinson) and Taylor Florio (Copperas Cove) completed the top five.

Finishing sixth through 10th in the IMCA Southern SportMod season finale were Larry Underwood, Jack Lewis, James Kelly, Michael Dabney and Corbin Willett. Four cautions slowed the pace (laps 0, 5, 10, 11), all for minor incidents.

Dabney's ninth-place finish was good enough to secure the 2022 points championship. Going into the finale, he held a 14-point advantage over HOT stalwart Brandon Geurin, who did not race Friday night.

Batt, of Harker Heights, started on the pole of his feature and led all 20 laps in convincing fashion. Cameron Cook started seventh on the 20-car grid and powered his way up to second, while Dustin Mooney clinched the points title over Cook with a solid third-place effort.

Thomas Hall Jr. (Waco) and Michael Dabney (Kaufman) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

“This is Dustin's night, so I don't want to take anything away from him,” Batt said in O'Reilly Auto Parts Victory Lane as he acknowledged the newly-crowned champion. “I know how hard it is to win a championship out here. I want to thank all of my great supporters; and we'll be back in a couple of weeks.”

Finishing sixth through 10th in the IMCA Stock Car A Main were Wesley Warren, Allison Morris, Daniel Shipler, Thomas Hall and Michael Wofford, who powered his way up from 18th on the grid to earn a solid 10-place finish. Four cautions slowed the pace (laps 3, 5, 5, 12), all for minor spins.

Batt's margin of victory over Cook was a scant .726 seconds, as the young gun was hard on the gas. Mooney held an insurmountable 44-point lead over Cook going into the season finale.

Dixon, of Ennis, led all 15 laps of his A Main with a superior handling machine. Blaine Simcik started third and crossed the line in second, while Wes Dulock filled out the podium. Local favorite Ryan Hopkins (Waco) and James Hoffman Jr. (Lorena) rounded out the top five.

“Being out front and not being able to see anybody, you never know exactly what you have,” Dixon said. “We just held our line, and didn't see anybody beside us for a while. I want to thank my wife for all she does for me, and my brother, as well. I'll also thank Jacob Pirkle for his guidance this year.”

Finishing sixth through 10th in the Factory Stock feature were Michael Bowles, Brian Johnson (who drove up from 16th on the grid), Mike Land, Michael Guenat and Jacob Pruett. Only one caution slowed the pace at lap seven when Ty Maracle spun in Turn 2.

Dixon's margin of victory over Simcik was a healthy 1.243 seconds, as he was pulling steadily away.

Once again Selby Holder and his staff did a fine job at executing a busy program, with 11 heats and six features run off in a reasonable time frame. With 102 entries on hand in six divisions, along with some Powder Puff and Trailer races at the end of the show, it was a busy night of racing in Elm Mott.

By finishing second to Kevin Green on Friday evening, Matthew Day locked up the IMCA Modified points championship. Last year, Day won the IMCA Southern SportMod National title and was named Texas Short Track Driver-of-the-Year by RaceOnTexas and media partner the Revved Up Sports Show.

“I worked hard on this new Longhorn car all year; doing maintenance and everything. I think the car was taken care of the way it should be; but there was probably a few things I could have done better. If anything failed this season, I wanted to ensure it would be me and not the car. I'm just proud to be here, and owe a lot to my parents and sponsors.”

You can replay all of the action from Friday night's points finale at Heart O' Texas Speedway with a subscription at RaceOnTexas.com. With over 350 events on the Live streaming schedule this year, it's home to some of the best short track content available.

When you sign up today, select one of three options (OnDemand, ASCS National Sprints Only, or All Access), choose your favorite/hometown track and start enjoying great content while supporting your local track even when you can't attend in person. 

By Phil Whipple, RaceOnTexas.com Staff Writer. Photo By: Southern Sass Photography 


Sign up now for Race On Texas
Lonestar 600 at Devils Bowl Speedway

Replay Now Available