Boyd’s Jeffrey Abbey named 2023 Texas Short Track Driver-of-the-Year

Presented by RaceOnTexas.com and the Revved Up Sports Show

SPRING, Texas (Nov. 13, 2023) — Each year, the two most recognized and respected media outlets in Texas choose two drivers who rise above their peers in on-track performance. They look at the numbers in weekly and touring series events, evaluating the individuals who had the most outstanding results.

For 2023, one driver in the Touring Series category had truly a stellar season. In races through late October, Jeffrey Abbey, of Boyd, earned an impressive 10 wins, 30 top-five and 39 top-10 finishes in 53 starts overall, highlighted by the American Crate Late Model Series (ACLMS) championship.

“Jeffrey was up on the wheel in both Late Models and Stock Cars,” RaceOnTexas.com founder and co- owner Chris David said. “This award recognizes drivers who rack up the wins, week-in and week-out. Despite facing stiff competition, Jeffrey is always a top contender. He's both fast and consistent.”

Abbey started his fabulous season on Feb. 17-18 in Abilene, earning second and seventh-place finishes. He notched his first win of the year at Marshalltown on April 14, then doubled up at Rocket Raceway Park on May 27 with wins in IMCA Stock car and in the ACLMS A Main.

“Jeffrey had one of those years every driver dreams about,” Revved Up Sports Show founder and host Rodney Rodriguez said. “To win that ACLMS points title against so many talented drivers takes a whole lot of hard work. We're thrilled to recognize his efforts in two very competitive divisions.”

The Texas Short Track Driver-of-the-Year Award was created in 2021 to recognize drivers who stand above their peers in any given season. For that inaugural year, Farmersville native Matthew Day earned Weekly honors, while 'Rocket' Rodney Sanders, of Happy, Texas, won the Touring Series award.

In 2022, College Station, Texas, racer Jared Maupin put in an outstanding season to claim the award in Weekly action, while Chris 'Win-Again' Henigan took top honors in touring series competition. Abbey will receive the same classy plaque the others received, and is truly deserving of the award.

Created in 2020, the award recognizes a track promoter (or co-promoters, in some cases) who goes the extra mile to promote our sport. There's always one who gives sponsors a good return; who draws new fans to the track with creative ideas, maintains a solid fan base and solid car count at his or her track.

Owen Pittman won the inaugural Promoter-of-the-Year Award for his efforts at Texana Raceway Park in Edna. In 2021, Rob and Libby Poor, of Abilene Speedway, rightfully got the nod; while former Rocket Raceway co-promoters Kevin Sustaire and Kevin Rogers were selected in 2022.

Earlier this fall, 105 Motor Speedway's Joey Smith was named the 2023 recipient for what he and his team have done to revitalize the popular facility in Cleveland, Texas.

To learn more about RaceOnTexas, go to www.raceontexas.com. For more information on the Revved Up Sports Show, visit them online at www.revvedupsportsshow.com. Photo by: Mike Frieri

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Replay Now Available